© കേരള സർക്കാർ Government of Kerala 2020



Regn.No. KERBIL/2012/45073 dated 05-09-2012 with RNI Reg No.Kl/TV(N)/634/2018-20

# കേരള ഗസറ്റ് KERALA GAZETTE അസാധാരണം EXTRAORDINARY

ആധികാരികമായി പ്രസിദ്ധപ്പെടുത്തുന്നത് PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

വാല്യം 9 Vol. IX തിരുവനന്തപുരം, വ്യാഴം

Thiruvananthapuram, Thursday

22nd Karkadakam 1195 **1942 (ຜວດມເກາວ 15** 15th Sravana 1942 നമ്പർ No. 1

## 1771

GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

### **Election (General) Department**

#### NOTIFICATION

No. 1641/EL1/2020/Elec.(1).

Dated, Thiruvananthapuram, 6th August, 2020.

The Election Commission of India's Notification No. 100/CS-KL/03/2020(1) dated 06th August, 2020 is hereby republished.

By order,

TEEKA RAM MEENA, Chief Electoral Officer and Additional Chief Secretary to Government.



TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE GAZETTE OF INDIA, EXTRAORDINARY, PART-II, SECTION-3 (iii) DATED 06TH AUGUST, 2020 TO BE REPUBLISHED IN THE EXTRAORDINARY ISSUE OF THE OFFICIAL GAZETTE OF THE STATE DATED 06TH AUGUST, 2020.

#### **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001

Dated: <u>06th</u> August, 2020 Shravana 15, 1942 (Saka).

#### NOTIFICATION

**No. 100/CS-KL/03/2020(1)**.—WHEREAS, the seat of Shri M. P. Veerendra Kumar in the Council of States, elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala, has become vacant on 28-05-2020 by the reason of his death, before the expiration of his term of office which was up to and including 02-04-2022; and

WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

Now, THEREFORE, in pursuance of section 147, sub-section (1) of section 39 and section 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby:—

(A) **calls upon** the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Kerala to elect, before 26th August, 2020 and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Council of States;

(B) appoints, with respect to the said election,—

- (a) the 13th August, 2020 (Thursday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 14th August, 2020 (Friday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
- (c) the 17th August, 2020 (Monday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 24th August, 2020 (Monday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
- (e) the 26th August, 2020 (Wednesday), as the date before which the election shall be completed;

and

(C) **fixes the hours** from **09.00 am to 04.00 pm**, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

By order,

(Sd.)

SUMAN KUMAR DAS, Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

